Raising Legal Smoking Age in Hawaii
A new law went into effect that raises the smoking age in Hawaii. Starting Friday, residents of Hawaii have to be at least 21-years-old to buy tobacco. Some cities and counties in the U.S. already have similar smoking laws, but no other state does. Stores are expected to put up new signs and employees now have to check customers' ID's. The goal is to cut smoking among youth.
Anyone under the age of 21 who tries to buy tobacco will pay a $10 fine for the first offense. The penalty for the store will be $500. The fines will go up if the violation is repeated.