Semi catches fire in I-24 crash in Marion County, impacting eastbound traffic Tuesday

(Image courtesy Enrique Ortiz)

A semi-truck caught fire on Interstate 24 eastbound near South Pittsburg, impacting traffic Tuesday afternoon.

Viewer Enrique Ortiz shared video and pictures with us of the incident earlier. In them, you can see a truck caught fire, sending smoke into the sky.

The Tennessee Department of Transportation (T-DOT) says no one was hurt.

As of 9:45 p.m. CT / 10:45 p.m. ET, the crash is still impacting traffic.

T-DOT says the right lane of traffic is closed, backing traffic up all the way to the foot of Monteagle Mountain.

T-DOT estimates the scene to be cleared by 1 a.m. CT / 2 a.m. ET, but that is subject to change.

See live traffic conditions and cameras with our Traffic Tracker here.

This is a developing story - depend on us to update you as we learn more.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off

Trending