Hamilton County Schools want community input on calendar options

Hamilton County Schools seek input about 2019-2020 school calendars. (IMAGE: HCDE)

Hamilton County Schools is considering school calendar options for the 2019-2020 school year. The department wants community input on two options.

The Hamilton County Department of Education recently formed a calendar committee made up of parents, teachers, and community leaders to discuss the best options.

Both calendars begin teacher in-service on Thursday, August 1, 2019, and the first day of school is Wednesday, August 7, 2019. Christmas break is the same beginning Thursday, December 19, 2019, and students returning to school on January 6, 2020. Both calendars end school on Thursday, May 21, 2020. Fall break, Thanksgiving break, and spring break are where there are differences in the calendars.

Calendar option #1 has a three-day fall break with two days in the second week of October on Thursday, October 10, and Friday, October 11, 2019; and Monday, October 14, 2019, in the third week. The Thanksgiving break is a full week from Monday, November 18, thru Friday, November 22, 2019. Spring break is the third week in March from Monday, March 16, to Friday, March 20, 2020. Spring break would coincide with the end of the third quarter and the UTC spring break.

Calendar option #2 has a full week for fall break the second week of October from Monday, October 7, thru Friday, October 11, 2019. The Thanksgiving break will be a three-day break from Wednesday, November 20, thru Friday, November 22, 2019. Spring break will be Friday, April 3, thru Friday, April 10, 2020. This spring break positioning will coincide with the Easter holiday.

To fill out the short survey to weigh in on the options, click here. You have until Tuesday, May 14 to fill out the survey.

The Hamilton County Board of Education will review the results of the survey and plan to approve a school calendar for the 2019-2020 school year at the regular meeting scheduled for Thursday, May 17, 2018.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off

Trending